How did they make beer?

Beer is made by soaking grains, typically barley, in hot water, extracting the resulting liquid and boiling it. While boiling, hops are added to bitter the beer and impart flavor and aroma. Once cooled, yeast is added to convert the sugars to alcohol and carbon dioxide.