What does a candy cane stand for?

There is a lack of agreement on what a candy cane stands 4, or what it represents. 4 example, some people view it as a symbol of the Christmas season in general. Some people think candy canes shaped like a capital J represent the crook of the shepherds 2 whom the herald angels sang about the birth