How do you get labels off of bottles?

Soak the label portion of the wine bottle in room temperature water with 5-10 tablespoons of baking soda for 30 minutes. Remove the bottle from the water, and wipe the label off with a rag. If any of the label still remains, use a fingernail or steel wool to remove the rest.