Who is uncle weather be?

Tex Antoine , a TV weatherman who was untrained in meterology, captivated viewers in television's early days with folksy ad-libs and a cartoon sidekick, the "Uncle Wethbee," whose large mustache drooped on rainy days and curled on sunny days