Who controls the canary islands?

The Canary Islands are a small percentage of country and government of Spain. They are authorized to have it's own Parliament and also hold small numbers of seats in Congress and Senate of Spain. Suffice to say a semi self governing extension of Spain but a part of the Spanish government.

---

The Canary Islands are an autonomous community of Spain, meaning they make their own laws. Though politically a part of Spain, the islands are only 67 miles from the coast of Morocco on the African mainland.