Why do clouds turn gray?

A cloud’s “grayness” is caused by the sun’s light being blocked. Blocking can occur when a cloud, is large enough to absorb solar energy as it passes though the cloud. Also, when rain, hail and snow are in a cloud, they block some of the sun’s light from getting through to the other side.