How big can hail get?

The largest hailstone ever recorded was 7 inches in diameter (or the size of a softball)

---

The largest hailstone fell on Vivian, South Dakota on July 23, 2010. It was 8 inches in diameter and weighed 1.94 pounds. It is thought the hailstone was actually larger — having melted somewhat before it was measured