Why is there a d. in fridge but not in refrigerator?

Miriam Webster says Fridge started appearing in print in the early 20th century. The word was spoken for much longer than having appeared in writing, and so to preserve the proper pronunciation of the word, printers added the d to mirror other words with similar soft g's such as bridge and lodge.