What is the meaning of complementary colors?

Complementary colors are color pairs that when combined cancel each other out. When placed together they create strong contrast. They are also sometimes called opposite colors. Examples of complementary colors are green and red or blue and orange.

---

Complementary colors are pairs of colors which, when combined or mixed, cancel each other out by producing a grayscale color like white or black. When placed next to each other, they create the strongest contrast for those two colors. Complementary colors may also be called opposite colors.