Can i compost parchment paper?

Parchment paper is not compostable since it has a silicone coating that is not biodegradable. There are some brands that advertise their parchment paper as biodegradable, but read the label carefully - if it contains silicone, it is simply trash and belongs in the garbage.

---

If the parchment paper is wax-free it will compost easily. This is the case with many baking parchment papers as they are made without wax. It is recommended to cut the parchment paper into small pieces prior to placing on the compost heap to help speed up the decomposition process.