What do you call a gangster's gun?

Depending on the era this could be a variety of weapons, the most commonly depicted in the gangster movies is the Thompson sub-machine gun, better known as a "Tommy-gun." Additionally there are a variety of revolvers, shotguns and the Colt 1911 semiautomatic handgun.