What's the population of the greater seattle metropolitan area?

The US Census Bureau officially defines the metropolitan area as the Seattle–Tacoma–Bellevue, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area. With an estimated population of 3,867,046 as of 2017, it is the 14th largest Metropolitan Statistical Area in the US, with almost half of Washington's population.