How do you earn a michelin star?

The Michelin tire company has been producing its iconic Michelin Guides since the early 1900s. The Michelin Guide is the gold standard of restaurant recommendations. Michelin Stars are given out on a scale of one to three, and only the top establishments in the world qualify for this designation.