How do you get rid of mold on the ceiling?

Mold on the ceiling is usually due to a water leak from a bathroom above. First, fix the leak. Then, cut away the drywall on the ceiling around the moldy area. Patch and repaint. Wear a respirator while working to avoid getting mold spores in your lungs.