What's a substitute for star anise?

Chinese five-spice powder is an excellent substitute because it contains star anise. Fennel seeds are another spice with a licorice-like flavor. Allspice is an option. Cloves are another potential stand in. Caraway seeds with tarragon can add a sufficient licorice kick to replace star anise.