What are m. a. o. i. s.?

Monoamine oxidase inhibitors are a class of drugs that inhibit the activity of one or both monoamine oxidase enzymes: monoamine oxidase A and monoamine oxidase B. They are best known as highly efficacious anti-depressants, as well as effective therapeutic agents for panic disorder and social phobia.