Why do people say holy toledo?

In the 20s and 30s, Toledo was a sanctuary for gangsters. They made an agreement with the police that if the police would leave them alone, they would leave Toledo alone. Since this provided a sanctuary, the gangsters called the city "Holy Toledo."