Why does rain come out of the sky?

Before water falls from the sky it is in a gas state in the atmosphere until it cools, condensates, then falls to earth as precipitation. Simply, water falls from the sky as rain because the atmosphere where the gas water was cooled enough for it to condense into rain and fall.