Who sang nothing but a hound dog?

“Hound Dog” was recorded for the very first time by the rhythm-and-blues singer Ellie Mae “Big Mama” Thornton. Four years later, Elvis Presley sang it and it became the #1 hit for 11 weeks in 1956.