Why does lettuce turn red?

The redness of the roots of the lettuce is the result of oxidation, and the chlorophyll is oxidized. It is non-toxic and can be eaten. If you find that the roots of the lettuce or the edges of the leaves are red, the iron in the lettuce is oxidized, indicating that it is not fresh