Why do we carve pumpkins in halloween?

The ritual of carving faces in pumpkins to make a Jack-o-lantern began as a way to ward off evil spirits that were believed to roam the earth on Samhain(now called Halloween), in Celtic/Irish/English communities in the 19th century.