Why are there mean people in the world?

People are mean for a variety of reasons. They're unhappy with themselves or their life & demeaning someone makes them feel better; they were raised in an environment where criticism is rewarded, nothing is good enough; they get rewarded either socially or monetarily for being mean (social media).