Who invented the word pink?

The color pink was recognized as a concept in 800 B.C. in Homer's Odyssey. The term was coined in the 17th century by a Greek botanist for the ruffled edges of carnations. In the mid-18th century, pink was a fashionable color among male and female aristocrats as a symbol of class and luxury.