What is the tarantula hawk wasp?

The Tarantula Hawk Wasp is a common desert wasp of the Southwest, but it can be found anywhere tarantula are found. As the name suggests, this wasp preys on tarantulas. The sting of this wasp is said to be the most painful of any insect in North America, but it's not aggressive and rarely stings