How many times a year does a dog shed?

Dogs shed basically two times. Shedding is seasonal. Dogs typically lose their winter coats in the spring, when it is replaced by a shorter, lighter one for summer. In the fall, this cycle is reversed, as the summer coat is shed to make room for heavy protective fur for winter.