What's the yellow ribbon stand for?

Usually it means that person who has a yellow ribbon displayed on their property, is waiting for someone to come home, and that the person, for whom they are waiting, is welcome home. This came from the song,"Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Tree," song by Tony Orlando and Dawn, in 1973.