How do you get tarnish off of silver?

One way to remove tarnish from silver is to line a non-reactive container with aluminum foil and pouring in a solution of 4 quarts of hot water to one half cup of baking soda. Place the silver pieces in the container and allow the silver to soak in this solution for 5 to 10 minutes then polish.