Do you add acid to water or water to acid?

If you add water to acid the solution may boil violently, splashing concentrated acid out of the container! If you add acid to water, the solution that forms is dilute and the small amount of heat released is not enough to vaporize and spatter it. So Always Add Acid to water, and never the reverse.