What are the properties of a kite?

The basic properties of a kite are lifting surfaces and a tether. Kites may vary from the basic diamond shaped foil on a cross frame, to a highly complex dragon kite with multiple segments and trailing ribbons, but the fundamental principles of lift and drag are the same.