How does a mirror reflect?

A mirror reflects most of the light that falls on it, and it reflects light rays in straight lines without scattering them in all directions. This means a flat mirror shows a clear image of whatever is in front of it. The light hits your eyes, making a picture of what is reflected in the mirror.