What is the difference between a meteor and a meteorite?

A meteor is a space rock that enters the Earth's atmosphere and burns up as a result of friction with the atmosphere, it is also known as a shooting star. A meteorite is a meteor that does not completely burn up in the atmosphere and impacts the Earth's surface.