Who was the legendary benedictine monk who invented champagne?

Dom Pierre Pérignon

---

Benedictine monk Dom Perignon invented champagne in 1693 when making wine and couldn't get rid of the bubbles. He tasted his accidental creation and exclaimed, “Come quickly! I am drinking the stars!”