How many cars are there in new york city?

Overall, there were 1,923,041 cars registered to city residents at the end of 2017, compared to 1,808,038 four years earlier. And that number doesn't include commercial vehicles, buses, trailers, motorcycles, farm vehicles, or taxis. Suffice it to say, too many.