Why is plastic wrap sticky?

Plasticizers are added to make plastic pliable. They migrate to the surface of the plastic, other ingredients in the plastic hitch a ride. These additives don't always evaporate but leave a film and attract stray elements into the surface. The plastic is basically slowly decomposing.