What is a rotary phone?

A rotary phone is a telecommunication device having a wheel having ten finger holes numbered 0 - 9. A number was dialed by placing a finger into the associated hole, then turning the wheel to a stop. The wheel would return home on its own, generating a pulse for each number it passed through.