Is a pumpkin a legume?

A legume is a plant that makes seeds within pods. A pumpkin is not grown in a pod, so it is not a legume. Pumpkins are a type of squash. They are classified as fruits because they are the seed-bearing parts of a flowering plant, but most people consider them a vegetable.