Are there more boys than girls on the planet?

There are more girls than boys. It is postulated that because every human starts out as a female in the mother's womb that it is more common to be born a girl than a boy. Hormonal changes need to occur in the womb to make a boy. This change appears to happen less than 50 percent of the time.