How many animals are there in the united states?

The United States is home to nearly 3000 native animal species. This number includes only vertebrates, that is mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and fish, and not invertebrates such as insects and crustaceans, which are so plentiful they have yet to be completely identified and counted.