Why does vanilla extract have alcohol in it?

Vanilla extract is oil removed from the vanilla seed by boiling in an alcohol. With pure vanilla oil an amount smaller than the head of a pin would flavor the whole batch of cookies. The alcohol carries the vanilla oil and evaporates during cooking.