How are mushrooms grown?

The mushroom itself is simply a 'fruit' of the mycelium that releases spores. The mycelium grows in a black compost of straw and horse manure. A shitake mushroom, growing out of a homemade 'log'. These logs, which resemble loaves of artisinal bread, are primarily made of red oak sawdust.