How do clams make babies?

According to Asbury Park Press, To reproduce, clams release eggs and sperm into the water seasonally, generally in mid-summer when water is warm and planktonic food is abundant. After fertilization of an egg, cellular division produces larvae and eventually tiny clams that settle to the bottom