Why do cats lick blankets?

Cats lick blankets as a result of their kneading and suckling instinct which they develop as kittens. Blankets often feel much like the underbelly of a mother cat - very soft, they are mimicking drinking milk and they do so usually when they are especially comfortable or want to be comfortable.