How long can a cat's whiskers grow?

The world record length of a Maine Coon cat's whiskers is 19 centimeters (almost 7.5 inches). Long whiskers on a cat serve several purposes. As a minimum, whiskers must be as wide as the cat itself. This means that larger breeds of feline will usually have longer whiskers.