Who is princess amidala?

In Star Wars, Padmé Amidala served as Queen and then Senator of Naboo and was also handy with a blaster. Despite her ideals and all she did for the cause of peace, her secret, forbidden marriage to Jedi Anakin Skywalker would prove to have dire consequences for the galaxy.