Can butterflies have babies?

Butterflies do not have live births. They land on the ground or a suitable perch to mate. After turning to face away from each other, they join the tips of their abdomens. The male then transfers a packet of sperm called a spermatophore to the female's body, where it will fertilize the waiting ova.