What happened to steve penny?

On October 17, 2018, the United States Marshals Smoky Mountains Fugitive Task Force arrested Penny. He is alleged to have tampered with evidence during the investigation of sexual assaults against Larry Nassar, but Walker County DA said there is not enough evidence to take a tampering case to trial.