What is an x. m. l. document?

XML stands for eXtended Markup Language. XML documents are strictly text files. In the context of data transport, the phrase "XML document" refers to a file or data stream containing any form of structured data. Examples include e-commerce transactions, server APIs, and mathematical equations.