When is mars closer to earth?

The minimum distance from the Earth to Mars is about 33.9 million miles (54.6 million kilometers). However, that doesn't happen very often. In 2003, Mars made its closest approach to Earth in nearly 60,000 years! It won't be that close again until the year 2287.