What is day of the dog?

To the Greeks and Romans, the “dog days” occurred around the time Sirius appears to rise alongside the sun, in late July in the Northern Hemisphere. They believed the heat from the 2 stars combined is what made these days the hottest of the year, a period that could bring fever or even catastrophe.

---

"The Day of the Dog" is a novel by Archie Weller set in urban Aboriginal Australia. It centers on young Doug Dooligan's recent release from jail. He is faced with many choices in the following days which always seem to draw him back into a circle of crime, violence, and the inevitable destruction.