What does did stand for in business?

Direct Inward Dialing (DID) is when a telephone service provider connects a block of telephone numbers to your company's Private Branch Exchange (PBX). It allows businesses to set up virtual numbers that can bypass the main reception lines and go directly to a desk extension or group of extension